Faculty & Staff

Dr. Reed Maxwell, Director


Dr. Reed Maxwell is the Rowlinson Professor of Hydrology in the Geology and Geological Engineering Department and the Director of the Integrated GroundWater Modeling Center (IGWMC) at the Colorado School of Mines. His research interests are focused on hydrology, particularly scientific questions relating to understanding connections within the hydrologic cycle and how they relate to water quantity and quality under anthropogenic stresses. He has authored more than 110 peer-reviewed journal articles and teaches classes on integrated hydrology, fluid mechanics and modeling terrestrial water flow. He currently leads a research group of graduate students, postdoctoral researchers and staff housed in the IGWMC at CSM. He has graduated 12 PhD students and 18 MS thesis students since coming to Mines in 2009. Before joining the faculty at the School of Mines, Dr. Maxwell was a postdoc and then staff in the Hydrologic Sciences group at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory and he holds a Ph.D. degree in Environmental Water Resources from the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department at the University of California, Berkeley.


Dr. Lisa Gallagher, Education and Outreach Director

Research Associate, Department of Geology and Geological Engineering, Colorado School of Mines

Lisa Gallagher has been with the center since 2015, primarily focusing on the education and outreach mission of the center. Since 2015, outreach initiatives developed and implemented by the IGWMC have impacted more than 7,500 K-12 students in the Colorado Front Range region. Lisa has since taken over as assistant director of the center, managing operations in support of the IGWMC’s mission. Lisa’s research interests focus on the advancement of STEM in the K-12 education system by fostering partnerships between scientists and K-12 educators to improve content and application of STEM in the classroom. Before joining the IGWMC staff, Lisa was a teaching fellow and research associate with the Trefny Institute for Educational Innovation at the Colorado School of Mines (CSM). She holds a PhD degree in Environmental Science and Engineering from the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department at CSM.

Dr. Mary Hill, Strategy Advisor

Professor, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences – Geology, University of Kansas

Mary Hill is a current recipient of the International Hydrology Prize Dooge Medal from the IAHS, the USGS Meritorious Service Award, the ASCE Walter Huber Research Prize, and the NGWA M. King Hubbert Award. Dr. Hill most recently served at the U.S. Geological Survey as the chief of Modeling and Uncertainty of Complex Groundwater Systems in the national research program in Boulder Colorado. She authored MODFLOWP, the popular PCG2 solver for MODFLOW, and articles on solvers, nonlinear regression, confidence intervals, and calibration methodology. She co-authored the UCODE, MODFLOW-2000, and UCODE_2005 inverse modeling codes, the OPR-PPR code for evaluation the importance of data to predictions, the MMA code for evaluating structural model uncertainty, and the Hill and Tiedeman (2007) text book published by Wiley. She is also a co-author on MOFLOW-LGR and MODPATH-LGR, for simulating groundwater flow and transport through locally refined grids.
Dr. Chunmiao Zheng, China Liaison

Chair Professor and Dean, School of Environmental Science and Engineering, South University of Science and Technology of China

Chumiao Zheng’s primary areas of his research are contaminant transport, groundwater management, and hydrologic modeling. He is developer of the widely used MT3DMS contaminant transport model and co-author of the textbook Applied Contaminant Transport Modeling published by Wiley in 1995 and 2002 and translated into Chinese in 2009. He is recipient of the John Hem Excellence in Science and Engineering Award from the National Ground Water Association in 1998 and a fellow of the Geological Society of America since 1999. He received the Birdsall-Dreiss Distinguished Lecturer award from the Geological Society of America in 2009 that took him to 70 universities and research institutions worldwide. He has served as associate editor for leading hydrology journals, including Water Resources Research, Ground WaterJournal of Hydrology, and Hydrogeology Journal. Currently, he is a member of the Standing Committee on Hydrologic Science of the National Research Council, and president of the International Commission on Groundwater of the International Association of Hydrologic Sciences. He received a Ph.D. in hydrogeology with a minor in civil and environmental engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1988.

Faculty affiliates

Dr. Kamini Singha

Professor and Associate Department Head, Department of Geology and Geological Engineering, Colorado School of Mines

Dr. Alexis Navarre-Sitchler

Assistant Professor, Department of Geology and Geological Engineering, Colorado School of Mines

Dr. Jonathan (Josh) Sharp

Assistant Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Colorado School of Mines


Professor, Department of Geology and Geological Engineering, Colorado School of Mines

Dr. John McCray

Professor and Department Head, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Colorado School of Mines