About Us

Dr. Reed Maxwell is a Professor of Hydrology in the Geology and Geological Engineering Department and the Director of the Integrated GroundWater Modeling Center (IGWMC) at the Colorado School of Mines. His research interests are focused on hydrology, particularly scientific questions relating to understanding connections within the hydrologic cycle and how they relate to water quantity and quality under anthropogenic stresses. He has authored more thans 85 peer-reviewed journal articles and teaches classes on integrated hydrology, fluid mechanics and modeling terrestrial water flow. He leads a research group of 15 graduate students, postdoctoral researchers and staff housed in the IGWMC at CSM. Before joining the faculty at Mines, Dr. Maxwell was staff in the Hydrologic Sciences group at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory and he holds a Ph.D. degree in Environmental Water Resources from the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department at the University of California, Berkeley.

Michael Morse is a Research Associate in the Department of Geology and Geological Engineering, and the Assistant Director of the IGWMC at the Colorado School of Mines. He has been with the Center since 2014 managing the center in its mission to disseminate information to stimulate the appropriate use of simulation models and concepts in the management and protection of groundwater resources. To this end, Michael has worked with many professionals and academics to produce short courses, conferences, and educational content for classrooms and the non-scientific community. Michael and his colleagues are contuning to develop new educational models and experiences to teach concepts and processes related to hydrologic and environmental science. His research interests include vadose zone hydrology, ecohydrological impacts of climate change and human-environment interaction, effective STEM education practices and science communication, and natural hazards. Michael holds a PhD degree in Hydrology from Colorado School of Mines.

Dr. Lisa Gallagher is an Education and Outreach Director for the IGWMC. Her research interests focus on molecular microbial ecology and the application of molecular biology techniques to characterize and evaluate environmental and engineered systems. She has a specific interest in the microbial communities associated with methane generation from coal. Additionally, her interests include the advancement of STEM in the K-12 education system by fostering partnerships between scientists, K-12 educators and academics to improve content and application of STEM in the classroom. Before joining the IGWMC staff, Lisa was a graduate research assistant in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, as well as a teaching fellow and research associate with the Trefny Institute for Educational Innovation at the Colorado School of Mines. She holds a PhD degree in Environmental Science and Engineering from the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department at the Colorado School of Mines.

Chunmiao Zheng is currently the George Lindahl III Endowed Professor of Hydrogeology in the Department of Geological Sciences at the University of Alabama. He is also Chair Professor and Director of the Center for Water Research at Peking University in Beijing, China. The primary areas of his research are contaminant transport, groundwater management, and hydrologic modeling. He is developer of the widely used MT3DMS contaminant transport model and co-author of the textbook Applied Contaminant Transport Modeling published by Wiley in 1995 and 2002 and translated into Chinese in 2009. He is recipient of the John Hem Excellence in Science and Engineering Award from the National Ground Water Association in 1998 and a fellow of the Geological Society of America since 1999. He received the Birdsall-Dreiss Distinguished Lecturer award from the Geological Society of America in 2009 that took him to 70 universities and research institutions worldwide. He has served as associate editor for leading hydrology journals, including Water Resources Research, Ground Water, Journal of Hydrology, and Hydrogeology Journal. Currently, he is a member of the Standing Committee on Hydrologic Science of the National Research Council, and president of the International Commission on Groundwater of the International Association of Hydrologic Sciences. He received a Ph.D. in hydrogeology with a minor in civil and environmental engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1988.

Mary Hill, PhD is a current Professor in the Department of Geology at the University of Kansas. She is a current recipient of the International Hydrology Prize Dooge Medal from the IAHS, the USGS Meritorious Service Award, the ASCE Walter Huber Research Prize, and the NGWA M. King Hubbert Award. Dr. Hill most recently served at the U.S. Geological Survey as the chief of Modeling and Uncertainty of Complex Groundwater Systems in the national research program in Boulder Colorado. She authored MODFLOWP, the popular PCG2 solver for MODFLOW, and articles on solvers, nonlinear regression, confidence intervals, and calibration methodology. She co-authored the UCODE, MODFLOW-2000, and UCODE_2005 inverse modeling codes, the OPR-PPR code for evaluation the importance of data to predictions, the MMA code for evaluating structural model uncertainty, and the Hill and Tiedeman (2007) text book published by Wiley. She is also a co-author on MOFLOW-LGR and MODPATH-LGR, for simulating groundwater flow and transport through locally refined grids.